Posted by: Rachel | October 16, 2011

unlovely to look at…

This week I am featuring one of my favorite cookie recipes. That in and of itself may not sound very exciting, but understand that it was actually cool enough to turn my oven on the other evening, and that is cause for celebration around here!

Cookies make me happy. I don’t know if I have ever met a cookie I didn’t like, although I certainly like some slightly more than others. This recipe I like for 1) its ease, 2) its versatility and 3) the yumminess factor of the finished cookie.

While I understand that baking is based more on “chemistry set” reactions than cooking is, and that recipes need to be followed more “to the letter”, I still like to play around. The original recipe for this cookie, which I found somewhere online years ago (I’d certainly provide the source if I had any idea, honest!!) didn’t even call for cocoa powder. So, I’ve strayed a bit afield but I think this is awfully good.

However, it is not a beautiful cookie. I mean, they aren’t dusted with snowy confectioner’s sugar (although they could be), they don’t have icing or any sort of decoration, but they are packed with flavor, sturdy (meaning they will travel well to a party or schoolroom), and very easy to make.

If the recipe looks slightly familiar to some of you, its because this is yet another iteration of my flourless florentines. Those are good, but these are even better I think.

I’m offering this now because I know that lots of folks do Halloween entertaining, or may be looking for schoolroom party ideas. While, as I said, these are not beautiful cookies, I think they could be offered as “werewolf droppings” or something… just a thought, ok?

The finished cookie is dense but not heavy, slightly chewy and moist. These go great with coffee or milk, and travel well so they would make a great bake-sale item. They also keep well, and can be made a day or more ahead. I haven’t tried freezing them, but I don’t see why that wouldn’t work well as well.

So, in case it is cool enough to turn your oven on as well, and if you are looking for an easy and delicious cookie, try this one!

Flourless Chocoroons

finished cookies

not so beautiful but oh so yummy

3/4 C almond flour
1/4 C finely shredded coconut
1/4 C cocoa powder (unsweetened)
3/4 C sugar
pinch of salt
pinch of cinnamon
1 slightly beaten egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp orange extract
2 T melted butter
1/4 C chocolate chips*
1/4 C chopped candied orange peel

Preheat the oven to 350F. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the almond flour, coconut, cocoa powder, sugar, cinnamon and salt. Add the egg, melted butter and extracts and mix well. It should hold together like a firm paste. If it is too dry, add 1 tsp of water and mix further. Add the chocolate chips (*I use the tiny ones) and the orange peel.

Drop by scant teaspoons onto parchment paper lined cookie sheets. These do not seem to spread like the “florentines” although if you add a bit more liquid they might well.

Bake 10 minutes, remove to a cooling rack and cool entirely. Store in an airtight container.

***

See? Very easy, and the cinnamon just makes the chocolate flavor more intense. Try ’em; I think you’ll like ’em! Mmmm…

Responses

  1. Macaroons are one of my favorite, so I think I’d love chocoroons.

    • Let us know if you try these, OK? I mean, *I* love ’em… but I’m easy cookie-wise. (grin)

  2. I was expecting recipes from exotic travel destinations this week, but cookies are always a hit.

    • Nope. Just hanging at home this week… and happy to be back! Still working on the mustard soup recipe…

  3. I had the pleasure of tasting these little werewolf droppings and they are delectable.

  4. oo.. flourless cookies.. oh yay!!!these must be for me! thank you. c

    • For you and the rest of my gf gfs (gluten-free girl friends…) Enjoy!!

  5. Werewolf droppings – still chuckling about that! Well, they sound good and not everything has to be pretty 🙂

  6. Hey thanks for these! Jo is on a lowcarb diet so for a Holiday treat I substituted Splenda and these were still very good. First time I left out the choc chips and they were good but a bit dry. Second time I used a little of those little choc jimmies from Holland and they were perfect! I also made a lemon version by leaving out the cocoa and putting in some Meyer lemon zest and juice. BTW: we think they look like reindeer droppings, not werewolf.
    Happy New Year!

    • Oh yum — I think I’d like lemon *with* cocoa, if that isn’t too over the top. How much juice did you use?

      Happy New Year to “all of y’all” as well… be safe and happy and “Eet Smakelijk!“ (grin)

  7. bookmarked!!, I like your web site!


Leave a Reply

Categories

