Posted by: Rachel | July 30, 2017

2 hot 2 do 2 much

Seems like August came in mid-July this year. The past 2 weeks we’ve been over 100F every day, and that in the shade! Miserable, but if you know me or if you’ve been reading this for a while you know that in addition to refusing to turn on my oven until things return to reasonable (I no longer say “normal”…) I’ve been thinking about how to use all that sunlight.

Or, at least the sun that falls on my driveway.

See, my poor little car sits out, uncovered, and if I leave the windows up it gets pretty toasty in there.

oven thermometer showing 160F

hot enough for ya?

In case it is too crudded up for you to read, it is registering 160F. That’s just over 71C. Hot!

In past summers (although never in July, always in August!) we’ve enjoyed sun-dried tomatoes, blueberries and mangoes, and even dates. This year, though, I though I’d try something a little different.

I decided to make fruit leather. I remember enjoying the chewy, slightly sticky flavorful, melt in your mouth gooey stuff as a kid and figured why not? Now if you look for “recipes” for this, there seem to be two main camps; the “cook it first” camp and the “why bother” camp.

Again, if you know me you know I’m lazy, so I fell happily into line with the “why bother” folks. Honestly, unless you are concerned about the chance of stray bacteria or unless your immune system shouldn’t risk it, why bother turning on the stove?? In any event, make this at your own peril, but I haven’t suffered yet (grin). Here’s all I did.

Peachy Leather Unrecipe

3 large ripe sweet peaches, pitted and cut in pieces
1/4 to 1/2 cup juicy red watermelon, cubed and carefully seeded
water if necessary (or more watermelon)
1 tsp Chinese 5 spice
1 tsp ground ginger
(nope, no sugar needed if the peaches are sweet!)

Put all fruit (I didn’t bother peeling the peaches) and spices in a blender and whirrr until you have a thick but pourable pulpy mess. Cover a cookie sheet with microwave safe plastic wrap. Pour the pulp onto the plastic wrap and spread out evenly. Put the cookie sheet flat on the dashboard for roughly two long hot sunny days and keep the windows rolled up. Remember to use an oven mitt when moving the cookie sheet to the passenger seat or floor before driving!

When the edges are dryish but the center is still slightly tacky bring it in, let it cool until room temperature, and it should peel right off the plastic. I rolled mine up and put it in the fridge and I’m nibbling on a piece of it as we “speak”. Mmmm!

That’s pretty much it. The spices are, of course, optional and up to you; I just really like ginger! Here’s a photo overview:

pulpy goodness

almost ready

ready to eat!

See? And, oh does my car smell wonderful! If this weather keeps up who knows what I may decide to dry in the car next month. Ideas? I’m open to suggestions!

Stay cool if you can and be safe… more soon!


Responses

  1. […] car. You know the drill, since we’ve done this before. Remember those blueberries? And that peach “leather”? So […]


Leave a comment

Categories