Posted by: Rachel | October 9, 2020

soup, actually

If you’ve read this blog for any length of time, you know that even though it is called “and then make soup” it rarely has anything to do with soup. This time, though, it does, actually.

Bear with me here. It is more or less what passes for fall here in central Texas, meaning that temperatures are in the low 80s for the most part, and I’m getting close to turning my oven on again. I’m craving fall colors, flavors, and general seasonal je ne sais quoi. No pumpkin spice this time, I promise, but curry seems to fill the bill nicely.

I have been known to make soups for all seasons, but any butternut squash soup, while delicious, always seemed like an awful lot of work. Then I discovered that one can purchase pre-prepped (ie peeled, seeded, and chopped) butternut squash in the produce section of almost any grocery store.

Score!

I confess, I’m a lazy cook. There are things that I’m happy to give plenty of time to, like Indian Pudding, but that is cooking/baking time, not prep time. And I’ve come close to cutting myself while trying to prep butternut squash in the past. But now, well, oh happy day!

So, here is my answer to the squash-prepping dilemma. Enjoy!

Lazy Cook’s Butternut Squash Soup

2-3 Tbsp olive oil

1 smallish onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

2-3 Tbsp curry powder of choice

6 or so cups of peeled and cubed butternut squash

2 cups chicken (or vegetable) broth*

1 can of coconut milk

Heat the oil in a heavy Dutch oven. Add the onions and garlic, and cook until soft. Add the curry powder, stir well, and cook for two minutes. Add everything else, squash, broth and coconut milk. Stir, bring to a boil, reduce the heat to a low simmer and cook covered for 20-30 minutes.

Once the squash is mashably tender, turn off heat and puree with a stick blender if available, or (carefully here… hot liquid and all) in a blender. Enjoy immediately, or over the next few days.

***

Honestly, that’s it. *I used chicken bone broth with good results. This is good and good for you, I like it hot or cold, and in my opinion it’s good for breakfast!

WordPress seems to have made changes since the last time I posted, and I have to figure out how to add photos, but suffice it to say this is a lovely fall color, smells delicious, keeps and freezes well, and overall I’m addicted!

Enjoy the season, stay well, and until the next time…


Leave a comment

Categories